The 2018 D'Amore-McKim School of Business Graduation Ceremony was held on May 3, 2018, in Matthews Arena, recognizing students for their accomplishments in academic studies, co-op experiences and leadership positions.

Suchira Sharma was the D'Amore-McKim Class of 2018 Graduation Ceremony student speaker (pictured below). Read her speech in its entirety.

“I believe that this world that we seek to change, is at a dangerous precipice. Individuals often choose to be the referee, between two seemingly equidistant extremes. Our world does not need referees. D'Amore-McKim has not prepared us to be a referee. It has prepared us to be a crusader of truth,” Sharma said. As future business leaders of the world, it is our jobs to ensure that once we leave the hallowed halls of this Institution, we do so with a higher duty to be part of the narrative of change. Not part of the narrative of complacency.”

The 2018 General Electric Best Teacher Award was given to Grigorios Livanis. Livanis is an assistant professor of International Business & Strategy at D'Amore-Mckim and has research interests in the areas of Global Strategy, Innovation, and Organization Design. He was the recipient of Northeastern University's Excellence in Teaching Award in 2010 and has been nominated by his students for the same award in 4 consecutive years. He was also nominated for the United States Professor of the Year Award in 2010, was voted as “Favorite Faculty” by the 2013 graduating senior class, and was a Best Teacher of the Year Finalist in the D'Amore-McKim School of Business in 2016.

Tejas S. Vora was presented with the Compass Award, which recognizes exemplary graduating students who have demonstrated dedication to leadership, volunteerism, academic integrity and a full commitment to Northeastern University during their time here.

Shelly Altman received The Heidi Vernon Award, which recognizes commitment to academics and performance as an ambassador for D'Amore-McKim while studying overseas.

The Edward Willet Award was given to David ZhengJohn WilliamsonCalvin TseAdam Young and Kaitlyn Slattery. Based on faculty recommendations and academic achievements, this award is given to graduating finance majors.

The Hobart Award was given to Margaret M. Walsh, recognizing her outstanding achievement in the management concentration and promising future in the field.

Twenty-four seniors were inducted into the Huntington 100, chosen for their impact on the campus community, service, global engagement, demonstrated leadership, entrepreneurial spirit and commitment to Northeastern values. The newest inductees include: David Adames, Kaustubh Bansal, Daniel M. Bekenstein, Anagha Bharadqaj, Emilio Botin Sanz deSautuola d'Ornano, Brennan Caruthers, Derek Chen, Brendan DeVoue, Matthew DiCenso, Kyle Dolce, Richard (Colby) Gilbert, Mabel Gonzalez Nunez, David Iken, Rory Kimel, Erica Lezama, Zhao “Lucy” Luo, Thomas Mattera, Eva Ndreko, Benjamin Novak, Dan Omicinski, Kyle Rossini, Sarah Sprole, Per Sebastian Traaseth, and Catalina Uribe. The Huntington 100 honors outstanding students for achievements that correspond with the university's mission, ideals and academic plan. Once inducted, the Office of Alumni Relations keeps members active within the Northeastern community.

The UPS Foundation Scholarship was awarded to Fang Wu, Andrew Cross, Olivia Kalpakis, Greg Shozda, Joy Shen, and Anthony Francis (pictured above from left to right).

The Sears B. Condit award was given to John Williamson, Jake Becker, Megan Mantaro, and Kate Lombardo.

In addition to the honors listed above, over 100 D'Amore-McKim students were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, an honor society recognizing business excellence. Twenty D'Amore-McKim seniors were also recognized for their co-op experiences with Cooperative Education Awards.

“Through your experiences and successes at Northeastern, you have already internalized a fundamental lesson that will stand you in great stead in life: understanding issues, and developing insights, are deepened by engaging people who see the world differently than us. My hope for you is that you will utilize your Northeastern experiences and become impactful global leaders. The world needs you to solve the grand challenges of our times,” said Dunton Family Dean Raj Echambadi (2017-2021).

Congratulations Class of 2018!